Presidential Award of Certificate for Scholars

The Government of India had instituted a Presidential Award of Certificate in 1958 to honour distinguished scholars of Sanskrit, Oriya, Kannada, Telugu and Malayalam which in 2016 was extended to Classical Oriya, Classical Kannada, Classical Telugu and Classical Malayalam. Under this Award, a Certificate of Honour along with onetime grant of Rs 500,000/- (Approx. Euro 7000/-) is given to a Scholar of over 60 years of age for their outstanding contribution in the field of these languages.

The potential candidates for this Award are requested to contact Embassy of India in Helsinki at